Honoring the Memory of The Fallen Astronauts

Extra, Extra! Get your Titan news here!

Moderators: GCO, GCOG, PR

Post Reply
Garrison Titan
Garrison Titan
Posts: 2389
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 1:18 pm
Garrison / Base: Titan
TK Number: TK-8265
Location: Shoreline, WA

Honoring the Memory of The Fallen Astronauts

Post by TK-Tank » Fri Jan 28, 2011 8:18 am

25 years ago today, January 28, 1986, the crew of the NASA space shuttle Challenger tragically died shortly after takeoff from Cape Canaveral when one of the solid-rocket boosters caused a massive explosion destroying the Challenger and everyone on board. 44 years ago yesterday, January 27, 1967, during a launch pad test of the NASA Apollo 1 space capsule, a fire started and quickly burned everything in the crew compartment, including the brave crew who did not survive. Four days from today marks the seventh anniversary of the destruction of the NASA space shuttle Columbia, which was destroyed during re-entry into the Earth's atmosphere on February 1, 2004 due to a heat shield that had been damaged during take-off days earlier when a piece of insulation had hit the heat-shield tiles at a very high speed. No one on board survived.

The members of the 501st Legion's Garrison Titan honor the memory of these brave men and women who gave up their lives for mankind's efforts to venture into outer space. Many of the men and women who join the space program do so after being inspired by stories and films such as "Star Wars". The children of today who excitedly see members of the 501st Legion in full "Star Wars" costumes may be among tomorrow's astronauts venturing out even deeper into the unknown. May their journeys, and the journeys of today's astronauts, always be safe.

We salute those who have fallen:
  • From Apollo 1 (1967): Gus Grissom, Ed White, and Roger Chaffee.
  • From Challenger (1986): Michael J. Smith, Dick Scobee, Ronald McNair, Ellison Onizuka, Gregory Jarvis, Judith Resnik and Christa McAuliffe.
  • From Columbia (2004): Rick D. Husband, William C. McCool, Michael P. Anderson, Ilan Ramon, Kalpana Chawla, David M. Brown and Laurel Clark.

Post Reply